SLA Past Presidents

2020-21: Tara Murray Grove
2019: Hal Kirkwood
2018: Roberto Sarmiento
2017: Dianna “Dee” Magnoni
2016: Tom Rink
2015: Jill Strand
2014: Kate Arnold
2013: Deb Hunt
2012: Brent Mai
2011: Cindy Romaine
2010: Anne Caputo
2009: Gloria Zamora
2008: Stephen Abram
2006-07: Rebecca B. Vargha
2005-06: Pam Rollo
2004-05: Ethel Salonen
2003-04: Cindy Hill
2002-03: Bill Fisher
2001-02: Hope Tillman
2000-01: Donna Scheeder
1999-00: Susan DiMattia
1998-99: L. Susan Hayes
1997-98: Judith J. Field
1996-97: Sylvia E.A. Piggot
1995-96: Jane Dysart
1994-95: Didi Pancake
1993-94: Miriam A. Drake
1992-93: Catherine “Kitty” Scott
1991-92: Guy St. Clair
1990-91: Ruth K. Seidman
1989-90: Muriel Regan
1988-89: Joe Ann Clifton
1987-88: Emily R. Mobley
1986-87: Frank H. Spaulding
1985-86: H. Robert Malinowski
1984-85: Vivian J. Arterbery
1983-84: Pat Molholt
1982-83: Janet M. Rigney
1981-82: George H. Ginader
1980-81: James B. Dodd
1979-80: Joseph M. Dagnese
1978-79: Vivian D. Hewitt
1977-78: Shirley Echelman
1976-77: Mark H. Baer
1975-76: Miriam H. Tees
1974-75: Edythe Moore
1973-74: Gilles Frappier
1972-73: Edward G. Strable
1971-72: Efren W. Gonzalez
1970-71: Florine A. Oltman
1969-70: Robert W. Gibson, Jr.
1968-69: Herbert S. White
1967-68: Elizabeth R. Usher
1966-67: Frank E. McKenna
1965-66: Alleen Thompson
1964-65: William S. Budington
1963-64: Mildred H. Brode
1962-63: Ethel S. Klahre
1961-62: Eugene B. Jackson
1960-61: Winifred Sewell
1959-60: Burton W. Adkinson
1958-59: Margaret H. Fuller
1957-58: Alberta L. Brown
1956-57: Katharine L. Kinder
1955-56: Chester M. Lewis
1954-55: Gretchen D. Little
1953-54: Lucile L. Keck
1952-53: Elizabeth Ferguson
1951-52: Grieg Aspnes
1950-51: Elizabeth W. Owens
1949-50: Ruth H. Hooker
1948-49: Rose L. Vormelker
1947-48: Irene Strieby Shreve
1946-47: Betty Joy Cole
1945-46: Herman H. Henkle
1944-45: Walter Hausdorfer
1942-44: Eleanor S. Cavanaugh
1940-42: Laura A. Woodward
1938-40: Alma C. Mitchill
1937-38: William F. Jacob
1935-37: Howard L. Stebbins
1934-35: Ruth Savord
1932-34: Mary Louise Alexander
1931-32: Alta B. Claflin
1930-31: Margaret Reynolds
1929-30: William Alcott
1926-29: Francis E. Cady
1924-26: Daniel N. Handy
1923-24: Edward H. Redstone
1922-23: Rebecca B. Rankin
1920-22: Dorsey W. Hyde, Jr.
1919-20: Maude Carabin Mann
1918-19: Guy Elwood Marion
1916-18: Charles C. Williamson
1916: Frederick N. Morton*
1915-16: Andrew Linn Bostwick
1914-15: Richard H. Johnston
1912-14: Daniel N. Handy
1911-12: Robert H. Whitten
1909-11: John Cotton Dana


* Resigned due to illness

  • Jump-Start Your Career Today by Visiting the SLA Career Center! The SLA Career Center is the place to apply for j…
  • Physiologist Alejandro Caicedo is preparing a grant proposal to the U.S. National Institutes of Health. He is feeli…
  • 📣 Last call! Today is the last day to submit your MLA | SLA 23’ abstracts. Want to make sure it checks off all the…
  • Language models are likely to be commoditized in the future. Finding sources of data that could train these models…
  • New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy signed legislation making New Jersey the first state to require that K-12 students lear…
©2023 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.