Press Releases

August 2023

SLA Announces 2023 Award Winners

April 2023

SLA Engages with New Management Partner

November 2022

SLA Publishes Book on Competitive Intelligence

October 2022

SLA Members Elect John DiGilio as 2024 President

June 2022

Kneale, Stankus Named to SLA Hall of Fame

March 2022

SLA Condemns Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine

January 2022

SLA Joins Call for Greater Digital Access

September 2021

SLA Members Elect U.K. Librarian as 2023 President

July 2021

Noted Writer Jelani Cobb to Keynote at SLA2021

June 2021

SLA’s 2021 Awards Recipients Hail from Three Continents

April 2021

SLA Raises Concerns about Copyright Extension
SLA Joins Call to ‘Breathe Life Back’ into FOIA
SLA Honors Several Who Showed Leadership During Pandemic

March 2021

SLA Reaffirms Support for Asian and Pacific Islander Members

February 2021

SLA Urges Improvements to Records Digitization Proposal
SLA Appeals Closure of Government Library in Canada

January 2021

SLA Joins Coalition to Promote Equitable Access and Expand Lending
SLA Condemns Mob Assault on U.S. Capitol and Lawmakers

September 2020

Disability Advocate, Digital Expert to Deliver SLA2020 Keynotes

July 2020

SLA Warns Against Politicizing COVID-19 Data
SLA Opposes Removal of Books from Hong Kong Bookstores, Libraries
2020 Annual Conference to Be Fully Virtual

June 2020

SLA Releases Statement against Racism and Unequal Treatment

May 2020

SLA Names 2020 Class of Awards Recipients

April 2020

SLA Joins Calls to Strengthen Copyright and Intellectual Property Laws

March 2020

SLA Urges Employers to Retain Librarians and Information Professionals
SLA Urges Caution on Government Actions during Pandemic
Four Receive SLA Presidential Citations

September 2019

Lavallée-Welch to Lead SLA in 2021

July 2019

SLA Reaffirms Commitment to Inclusion

April 2019

St. Clair, Bromley and Fisher Head 2019 Awards Class

January 2019

SLA Honors Members for Strengthening Association
SLA Supports Information Professionals Affected by Government Shutdown

September 2018

SLA Members Choose Tara Murray as 2020 President

June 2018

Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden to Headline Library Conference in Baltimore

May 2018

SLA Creates Diversity, Inclusion, Community, and Equity (DICE) Caucus

April 2018

SLA to Recognize Outstanding Contributions of 13 Librarians and Information Professionals
SLA Honors Members with Presidential Citations

November 2017

SLA and its Pharmaceutical and Health Technology Division Partner to Bring DPHT Annual Meeting to Baltimore

September 2017

Business Librarian Hal Kirkwood Elected 2019 SLA President

July 2017

Tackling Fake News, Digital Preservation, and More in Phoenix at SLA 2017 Annual Conference

May 2017

SLA’s Compelling Keynotes—Lessons from Public Radio, Chocolate, Uber, Fashion, and Outer Space

April 2017

SLA to Honor Longstanding and Emerging Leaders in the Information Profession

March 2017

SLA Opposes Elimination of IMLS Funding

February 2017

Special Message from the SLA Board of Directors

January 2017

SLA Members Honored for 2016 Contributions

September 2016

Transportation Librarian Elected 2018 President of SLA

July 2016

Leading Special Librarians Gather in Philadelphia for SLA 2016 Annual Conference

May 2016

SLA Welcomes Amy Lestition Burke, CAE, as New Executive Director
Matarazzo and Pearlstein Honored with Dana Award

April 2016

SLA to Induct Noorlander, Weiss into Hall of Fame
SLA Takes Fresh Look at Skills Used for Information Work
SLA Honors Judith Currano with Vormelker Award
SLA Deliberating Moving Conference Out of North Carolina in Response to Anti-LGBT Law
New SLA Fellows Have History of Innovating
SLA Rebukes North Carolina LGBT Law
SLA Recognizes Four Rising Stars in Information Management Profession

December 2015

Teams, Individuals Honored with Presidential Citations

September 2015

Dee Magnoni to Lead SLA in 2017
SLA Recognizes Student Groups for Leadership and Innovation

June 2015

‘Revolutionary’ Conference Encourages Inquiry, Learning
Marjorie Hlava to Receive Dana Award

May 2015

Matarazzo, Salonen Named to SLA Hall of Fame
New SLA Fellows Span Globe and Work Environments

April 2015

Nielsen, Vargha to Receive Vormelker Award
SLA Teams with IET to Launch New Learning Program

March 2015

Three Info Pros Named 2015 SLA Rising Stars

January 2015

SLA Board Names de Stricker, Shamel Interim Executives

November 2014

SLA and Janice R. Lachance announce Lachance’s departure as CEO

September 2014

Tom Rink to Head SLA in 2016

August 2014

SLA Recognizes Student Groups for Achievements in Leadership and Innovation

July 2014

SLA Honors Cindy Hill with Dana Award

June 2014

SLA 2014 Annual Conference Transcends Borders in Vancouver

Tracy Z. Maleeff to Receive Inaugural Dow Jones Innovate Award

Three Up-and-Comers to be Named SLA Rising Stars

April 2014

Copyright Clearance Center Sponsors SLA’s Rising Star Program
17 April 2014

SLA Announces Candidates for 2015 Board of Directors
10 April 2014

December 2013

SLA President Co-Authors Book about Realizing Career Potential
16 December 2013

October 2013

Executives Ready to Engage with Information Professionals
31 October 2013

September 2013

2014 SLA Board of Directors Election Closes
26 September 2013

July 2013

SLA Strikes Partnership with Phoenix Translations
31 July 2013

June 2013

SLA 2013 Annual Conference Converts Challenge into Opportunity
20 June 2013

March 2013

SLA Announces Candidates for 2014 Board of Directors
22 March 2013

Five Named SLA Rising Stars for Early Career Accomplishments
18 March 2013

February 2013

SLA Renews Career Services Partnership with TRAK
19 February 2013

October 2012

2013 SLA Board of Directors Election Ends
1 October 2012

August 2012

SLA Honors Sophia Guevara with Diversity  Leadership Development Award
17 August 2012

Jesus Lau Receives SLA’s Most Prestigious Honor
8 August 2012

July 2012

SLA 2012 Facilitates Skill Enhancement, Fresh Thinking for Thousands
27 July 2012

June 2012

Daniel Lee Named Recipient of ProQuest Dialog Member Achievement Award
25 June 2012

SLA Honors Two for Mentoring, Service, and Achievement
6 June 2012

April 2012

SLA Members Support Lubuto Library Project, Zambian Literacy
20 April 2012

February 2012

SLA Announces Candidates for 2013 Board of Directors
28 February 2012

SLA to Honor 5 New Fellows at 2012 Annual Conference & INFO-EXPO
1 February 2012

January 2012

Information Professionals Recognized for Early-Career Achievements
25 January 2012

©2023 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.