Lavallée-Welch to Lead SLA in 2021

2020 Board of Directors to Include Members from Canada, U.K.

McLean, Virginia, 19 September 2019—Members of the Special Libraries Association have elected Catherine Lavallée-Welch, university librarian at Bishop’s University in Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada, to serve as president of SLA in 2021.

Lavallée-Welch joined SLA in 2000 while at the University of Louisville and has since worked in libraries in Canada, Europe, and the United States. She has chaired SLA’s Academic Division and Information Technology Division, served on the board of the Science-Technology Division, and served on the SLA Board of Directors (2015-2017). She writes and presents frequently on issues ranging from blogging to technology to distance learning.

Lavallée-Welch was named a Fellow of SLA in 2014 at the association’s annual conference in Vancouver, British Columbia. Fellowship in SLA is bestowed on active, mid-career SLA members in recognition of past, present and future service to the association and the profession.

Lavallée-Welch will serve as president-elect of SLA in 2020, president in 2021, and past president in 2022. Joining her on the board in January 2020 are the following SLA members, who were also elected to serve three-year terms:

Natasha Chowdory, clinical evidence-based information specialist at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire (Coventry, England, United Kingdom)
2020-2022 Director

Elaine Lasda, subject librarian for social welfare and research impact at the University at Albany (New York)
2020 Chapter Cabinet Chair-elect/2021 Chair/2022 Past Chair

Jim Miller, principal at Connect Public Affairs (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
2020-2022 Director

Julie Snyder, corporate librarian and archivist at Shure Incorporated (Niles, Illinois)
2020 Division Cabinet Chair-elect/2021 Chair/2022 Past Chair

The election was held online during September 4-18. Prior to the election, the candidates participated in a Twitter chat and in online discussions with SLA members.

The newly elected board members will join the following current members of the board whose service extends through 2020:

  • Tara Murray, 2020 President
  • Hal Kirkwood, 2020 Past President
  • Bill Noorlander, 2019-2021 Treasurer
  • Robin Dodge, 2020 Chapter Cabinet Chair
  • Valerie Perry, 2020 Past Chapter Cabinet Chair
  • Jill Konieczko, 2020 Division Cabinet Chair
  • Hildy Dworkin, 2018-2020 Director
  • Amy Jankowski, 2018-2020 Director

The 2020 Board of Directors will hold its first meeting at the SLA Leadership Symposium in McLean, Virginia, on January 18-20.

About SLA
The Special Libraries Association (SLA) is a nonprofit international organization for innovative information professionals and their strategic partners. SLA serves information professionals in more than 60 countries and in a range of working environments, including business, academia and government agencies. SLA promotes and strengthens its members through learning, advocacy and networking initiatives. For more information, visit

Kathy Bradley

  • Join us in welcoming our newest SLA member, Emily Hoy! At SLA, our vibrant communities provide you with great oppo…
  • Unless you've been living under a rock, you've heard the buzz about ChatGPT. What you may not know about ChatGPT is…
  • When the pandemic began and schools and libraries around the country were forced to close their doors, teachers and…
  • 🐤 Take advantage of early-bird pricing for in-person and virtual registration through April 14 for MLA | SLA 23'! G…
  • Join us in welcoming our newest SLA member, Adina Vega! At SLA, our vibrant communities provide you with great opp…
©2023 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.