SLA Honors Members with Presidential Citations

Members engaged in diversity, advocacy, and training are recognized for their achievements and contributions.

McLean, Virginia, 13 April 2018—Members of two SLA task forces, one charged with identifying the role of diversity and inclusion within the association and the other with exploring the definition of advocacy within SLA and strengthen the association’s advocacy efforts, are receiving citations from 2017 SLA President Dee Magnoni for their contributions to the association last year.

Both the Diversity and Inclusion Task Force and the Public Policy Task Force fulfilled their mandates in 2017 and are being transitioned into permanent entities—the former as a caucus and the latter as an advisory council. The citations recognize their efforts to enhance SLA and further its goals and objectives.

The SLA members who served on the Diversity and Inclusion Task Force are as follows:

  • Clara Cabrera (chair)
  • Andrew Grissom
  • Amanpreet Kaur
  • Seema Rampersad
  • Michael Sholinbeck
  • Michele Villagran
  • Barbara Kern (SLA Board liaison)
  • Amy Burke (SLA staff liaison)

The members who served on the Public Policy Task Force are as follows:

  • Jamie Lin (chair)
  • Sarah Braun
  • Scott Brown
  • Eli Edwards
  • Marjorie Greer
  • Nick Lamb
  • Stefanie Maclin-Hurd
  • Jim Miller
  • Rebecca Smith
  • Catherine Lavallee-Welch (SLA Board liaison)
  • Amy Burke (SLA staff liaison
  • Rebecca Flick (SLA staff liaison)

In addition to these task force members, the 2017 SLA Chapter and Division Cabinet officers are receiving presidential citations for their exceptional dedication and time in creating a year-long set of training, conversation, and engagement opportunities:

  • Mary Talley (Chapter Cabinet chair)
  • Tom Nielsen (Division Cabinet chair)
  • Emma Davidson (Chapter Cabinet chair-elect)
  • Laura Leavitt Walesby (Division Cabinet chair-elect)
  • Kim Silk (Chapter Cabinet past chair)
  • Ruth Kneale (Division Cabinet past chair)

Magnoni also is presenting presidential citations to the following SLA members:

  • Brandy King, chair of the 2017 SLA Annual Conference Advisory Council, for her leadership of the SLA 2017 Annual Conference
  • Tom Rink, 2016 SLA president and 2017 past president, for his boundless support of SLA and unceasing efforts to ensure its success and increase its value
  • Michael Rosenberg, Ann Marie Ruskin, and Will Sweet, SLA staff members who went above and beyond in their behind-the-scenes support of SLA in 2017

“SLA is blessed with members who give generously of their time and talents to help move our association forward and open new doors to engaging, educating, and connecting with information professionals,” Magnoni said. “I am proud and honored to present presidential citations to the many members who went above and beyond in 2017.”

About SLA
The Special Libraries Association (SLA), founded in 1909, is a nonprofit international organization for innovative information professionals and their strategic partners. SLA serves information professionals in more than 50 countries and in a range of working environments, including business, academia, and government. SLA promotes and strengthens its members through learning, advocacy, and networking initiatives. For more information, visit

Rebecca Flick

©2023 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.