St. Clair, Bromley and Fisher Head 2019 Awards Class

Association to recognize 13 members at Annual Conference in Cleveland

McLean, Va., 28 April 2019—An “evangelist” for knowledge management who has written or co-authored more than a dozen books, a longtime library director for a publisher of legal, tax, regulatory, and business information, and a respected educator at schools of library and information services head a group of 13 information professionals who will receive awards at the Special Libraries Association’s 2019 Annual Conference in Cleveland, Ohio, in June.

Guy St. Clair, president of SMR International, a New York-based consultancy specializing in knowledge services and knowledge strategy, will receive the John Cotton Dana Award, SLA’s top honor. Named for SLA’s founder and first president, the award is granted to an information professional to recognize a lifetime of achievement as well as exceptional service to SLA and the library and information profession.

St. Clair served as president of SLA in 1991-1992, was named a Fellow of SLA in 1996, and was inducted into the association’s Hall of Fame in 2010. He has written widely about solo librarianship, knowledge management, and knowledge services, and his 2009 book, SLA at 100: From “Putting Knowledge to Work” to Building the Knowledge Culture, traces the history of SLA from its founding to its centennial.

Marilyn Bromley and Bill Fisher will be inducted into the SLA Hall of Fame, which recognizes SLA members at or near the end of their active professional career for their service and contributions to the association or for lengthy distinguished service to an SLA chapter or division that has contributed to the success of the association.

Bromley worked for more than 30 years for BNA (now Bloomberg BNA), the last 22 as library director. She served on the SLA Board of Directors in 2012-2014 and was active in the Washington, D.C. Chapter—serving in several leadership positions, including as president in 1992-1993—and in the Division of Social Science (now the Social Sciences & Humanities Division), serving as its chair in 2010. She was named a Dialog InfoStar in 2002.

Fisher is a professor emeritus at San Jose State University’s School of Information, where he joined the faculty in 1988 after a teaching stint at UCLA. He was named a Fellow of SLA in 1998, served as president of SLA in 2002-2003, and received the John Cotton Dana Award in 2008. He served as president of the SLA Southern California Chapter in 1986-1987, as president of the San Andreas Chapter in 1996-1997, and as chair of the Leadership and Management Division in 2010.

The recipients of the other awards that will be presented at the SLA 2019 Annual Conference are as follows:

The Rose L. Vormelker Award, which is presented to a mid-career member in good standing who actively teaches and/or mentors students or working professionals:

  • Eve Wider

Fellowship in SLA, which is bestowed on active, mid-career SLA members in recognition of past, present and future service to the association and the profession:

  • Geraldine Clement-Stoneham
  • Nick Collison
  • Ulla de Stricker
  • Heather Kotula
  • Kendra Levine

The James M. Matarazzo Rising Star Award, which recognizes outstanding new SLA members who show exceptional promise of leadership and contribution to the association and profession:

  • Natasha Chowdory
  • Angela Pagliaro
  • Kristin Petersheim
  • Mea Warren

The awards will be presented at the conference keynote sessions. The Cotton Dana Award will be presented on Sunday, June 16; the Fellows of SLA and Rising Stars will be honored on Monday, June 17; and the Rosie Award and Hall of Fame presentation will take place on Tuesday, June 18.

About SLA
The Special Libraries Association (SLA) is a nonprofit international organization for innovative information professionals and their strategic partners. SLA serves information professionals in more than 60 countries and in a range of working environments, including business, academia and government agencies. SLA promotes and strengthens its members through learning, advocacy and networking initiatives. For more information, visit

Mike Rosenberg

©2023 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.