Transportation Librarian Elected 2018 President of SLA

Information professionals who work in physical sciences, legal, business, and museum settings will also serve on association’s board.

McLean, Virginia, 22 September 2016—Roberto Sarmiento, head of the Transportation Library and acting director of the Distinctive Collections Workgroup at Northwestern University, was elected by his fellow members of the Special Libraries Association to serve as the organization’s president in 2018.

Sarmiento has been an SLA member since 1989 and has served the association in several capacities, including chairing the Transportation Division and the Bylaws Committee. He will join the SLA Board of Directors in January 2017 as president-elect, become president in 2018, then serve as past president in 2019.

Joining Sarmiento on the SLA Board in January are the other newly elected board members:

  • Emma Davidson (Chapter Cabinet Chair-elect), Morgan Library and Museum, New York;
  • Laura Leavitt (Division Cabinet Chair-elect), Gast Business Library, Michigan State University;
  • Zena Applebaum (Director), Bennett Jones LLP, Toronto; and
  • Barbara Kern (Director), John Crerar Library, University of Chicago.

The election was conducted online from September 7 through September 21. The candidates were put forward by a nominating committee that seeks to ensure SLA is governed by members who represent a balance of different chapters (geographic entities) and divisions (professional disciplines).

About SLA:
The Special Libraries Association (SLA), founded in 1909, is a nonprofit international organization for innovative information professionals and their strategic partners. SLA serves information professionals in more than 50 countries and in a range of working environments, including business, academia, and government agencies. SLA promotes and strengthens its members through learning, advocacy and networking initiatives. For more information, visit

Kate O’Donnell, CAE

  • Thanks for sharing @InfoSecSherpa! Learn more about how @Tinder's lack of encryption allows strangers see your swip…
  • .@slatran and #SLAPetroleumEnergyResourcesDivision - Can you weigh in on this article, "How many electric cars can…
  • RT @SLANewEngland: Relevant year-round to #SLAers and other #infopros!
  • Windy city #SLAers, don't miss this chance to expand your professional network! Attend Wednesday's happy hour co-ho…
  • RT @desertlibrarian: Wish I was going - hope all SLA members consider it! #SLAers
©2018 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved