Board Candidates Span Wide Range of Library Environments

Special librarians from the legal, academic, corporate, and government sectors will vie for four positions on the SLA Board of Directors, in an election to be conducted online in September.

Headlining the election are the candidates for president: Nick Collison, director of content and library support for cSubs, and Tara Murray, librarian for Germanic and Slavic languages and literatures at Penn State University. The winner will serve as president-elect in 2019, president in 2020, and past president in 2021.

Nick is currently the treasurer of SLA, a board position he has held since January 2016. An SLA member since 2003, Nick has served as president of the SLA New York Chapter and chair of the Finance Committee and has been active as well in the Business & Finance Division. He has been with cSubs, a subscription management firm headquartered in Montvale, New Jersey, since 2009; previously, he worked for Swets Information Service in London.

Tara joined SLA in 1998 and has been active on all levels of the association. She has served as president of the SLA Central Pennsylvania Chapter and chair of the SLA Social Science Division and was a member of the SLA Board of Directors from 2013–2015. Prior to joining Penn State, she worked at the American Philatelic Research Library in Bellefonte, Pennsylvania. In addition to her job at Penn State, she serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Library Administration. In 2017, she was named a Fellow of SLA.

In addition to the race for president, three other board positions are being contested: treasurer, chapter cabinet chair, and division cabinet chair. The candidates for these positions are as follows:


  • Bill Noorlander, BST America, New York
  • Heather Kotula, Access Innovations, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Chapter Cabinet Chair

  • Robin Dodge, Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising, Los Angeles
  • Siobhan McGuinness, Waterford City, Ireland

Division Cabinet Chair

  • Jill Konieczko, Zimmerman Associates, Fairfax, Virginia
  • Tiffany Lopez, Smith Anderson LLP, Raleigh, North Carolina

The election voting period will run Wednesday, Sept. 5, through Wednesday, Sept. 19.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

©2024 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.