For 60-plus years, SLA’s awards program has honored members who shape the information profession and the association through their dedication, leadership, mentoring, and innovative approach to their work. From the James M. Matarazzo Rising Star Award, which recognizes outstanding new SLA members who show exceptional promise of leadership and contribution to the association and profession, to the John Cotton Dana Award, which is granted to an information professional to recognize a lifetime of achievement as well as exceptional service to SLA and the library and information profession, SLA awards honor those who put the interests of the library profession, their fellow librarians, and SLA above their own.

Award recipients are nominated by their peers and honored at the association’s annual conference. As in 2020, the awards ceremony at the SLA 2021 Annual Conference will be held virtually and will be open to those who are not attending the conference.

2021 Nomination Deadlines
Award   Nomination Period
Fellows of SLA and James M. Matarazzo Rising Stars April 7-May 18
Hall of Fame, John Cotton Dana and Rose L. Vormelker April 7-May 18
Presidential Citations Year-round
Unit Membership Growth Year-round

Nominate an SLA Member


Annual awards and recognition


Awards criteria and nomination guidelines

Award Recipients

  • Around a third of all global research articles are now published open access, according to the latest report by the…
  • Issue awareness helps you prepare for timely decisions, planning, and actions. In "INTEL-11B Issue Monitoring & Ana…
  • The Professional Development Advisory Council is calling for continuing education workshops for the next several mo…
  • In "INTEL-10: Management Analysis" you’ll learn how to understand management’s decision-making tendencies, anticipa…
  • Cambridge University Press and the Council of Australian University Librarians have reached a transformative agreem…
©2021 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.