Board of Directors

SLA is governed by a board of directors elected by the membership. The board shall have the power and authority to manage the association’s property and to regulate and govern its affairs. The board shall determine the policies of the association, and shall take such actions as it considers necessary to carry out the objectives of the association.

Board Meetings
The SLA Board has planned four Board Meetings in 2021. Members are invited to attend. Meeting agendas and supporting documents are made available to all members prior to the meeting.

Presidential Town Halls
SLA President Tara Murray Grove will host quarterly Town Halls open to all members. These Town Halls will cover different topics, feature guests, and provide an update on what’s happening in SLA.

Board Nominations
Each year, SLA’s Nominating Committee accepts nominations from members for candidates to serve on the SLA Board of Directors.

2021 SLA Board of Directors

Tara Murray Grove
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, Pennsylvania
tem10 (@) psu (dot) edu
Catherine Lavallée-Welch
Bishop’s University
Sherbrooke, Quebec
clw (@) ubishops (dot) ca
Past President
Treasurer, 2021-2022
Hal Kirkwood
University of Oxford
Oxford, United Kingdom
kirkwoodhal (@) gmail (dot) com
Alicia Biggers
Charlotte, North Carolina
alicia.biggers (@) albemarle (dot) com
Community Liaisons
Robin Dodge
Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising
Los Angeles, California
rdodge (@) fidm (dot) edu
Elaine Lasda
State University of New York at Albany
Albany, New York
elasda (@) albany (dot) edu
Valerie Perry
University of Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky
vperry (@) uky (dot) edu
Jill Mottorn (Konieczko)
Cheverly, Maryland
j.konieczko (@) elsevier (dot) com
Julie Snyder
Shure Incorporated
Niles, Illinois
snyder_julie (@) shure (dot) com
Emma Davidson
New York Public Library
Hoboken, New Jersey
emmadavidson2010 (@) gmail (dot) com
Directors, 2018-2021
Hildy Dworkin
NYC Department of Social Services
New York, New York
hildysla (@) gmail (dot) com
Amy Jankowski
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico
ajankowski (@) unm (dot) edu
Directors, 2020-2023
PK Jain
University of Delhi Enclave, North Campus
Delhi, India
pkjain1310 (@) gmail (dot) com
Jim Miller
Connect Public Affairs
Ottawa, Ontario
jim.miller (@) connectpublicaffairs (dot) com

SLA Board of Director Liaisons for Communities

SLA Board Position Descriptions

  • The learning experience should be easy. At SLA's 2021 Annual Conference, the learning experience can be summed up i…
  • What does attending SLA2021 offer you? SLA Member Nabi Hasan explains why you don’t want to miss attending our annu…
  • What is the preferred term: "knowledge management" or "organizational intelligence"? More about this and much more…
  • Hello #SLAers - it's #MemberMonday! Welcome to our new SLA member, @kenlibrarian! Take part in the SLA community -…
  • Work—and the information, data, and other factors that drive it—is always changing. Which means you have to keep lo…
©2021 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.