Students and New Information Professionals Subcommittee

The Students and New Information Professionals Subcommittee (SNIPS) is established to engage and energize students and new professionals to contribute to, and benefit from, SLA and the profession by participating as included and active members and developing their skills and networks.

Subcommittee Charge
The subcommittee shall be responsible for—

  • working with staff to increase the number of student members who become full members of the association and who attend the annual meeting in order to develop the future leaders of the association;
  • developing learning and networking opportunities to attract and retain students and new information professionals in order to ensure they have access to resources for career growth;
  • planning events each year highlighting member benefits for students and new professionals in order to maintain engagement with members newer to the profession and the association; and
  • collaborating with staff on programs and other issues pertaining to student members and graduates within the first five years of their career, throughout the year and at the annual meeting, in order to ensure they are receiving the most up-to-date resources for jump-starting their careers.

Subcommittee Roles and Responsibilities

Subcommittee Composition and Terms
The subcommittee shall be composed of at least six (6) members:

  • one (1) member of the Membership Committee to serve as the Chair;
  • one (1) SLA student member;
  • two (2) non-Board members within the first five (5) years of their professional career; and
  • at least (2) additional non-Board members of the Association.

At least one (1) member of the SLA Board of Directors shall serve as the non-voting Board liaison. The staff liaison should be the director of engagement.

The SLA student member serves a one-year term, while remaining members serve overlapping two-year terms. A member starting their second year on the subcommittee should be considered for the position of Chair.

Subcommittee Members
Chair: Laura Walesby
David Ballentine
Shaun Kennedy
Kirsti Morrison-Clear
Meenal Oak
Erin Robinson

Board Liaison
Jim Miller

Staff Liaison
Jordan Burghardt

©2023 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.