SLA Members Select President for 2021

Catherine Lavallée-Welch, university librarian at Bishop’s University in Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada, has been elected by the members of the Special Libraries Association to serve as president of SLA in 2021.

Catherine joined SLA in 2000 while at the University of Louisville and has since worked in libraries in Canada, Europe, and the United States. She has chaired SLA’s Academic Division and Information Technology Division, served on the board of the Science-Technology Division, and served on the SLA Board of Directors (2015-2017). She writes and presents frequently on issues ranging from blogging to technology to distance learning.

Catherine was named a Fellow of SLA in 2014 at the association’s annual conference in Vancouver, British Columbia. Fellowship in SLA is bestowed on active, mid-career SLA members in recognition of past, present and future service to the association and the profession.

Catherine will serve as president-elect of SLA in 2020, president in 2021, and past president in 2022. Joining her on the board in January 2020 are the following SLA members, who were also elected to serve three-year terms:

Natasha Chowdory, clinical evidence-based information specialist at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire (Coventry, England, United Kingdom)
2020-2022 Director

Elaine Lasda, subject librarian for social welfare and research impact at the University at Albany (New York)
2020 Chapter Cabinet Chair-elect/2021 Chair/2022 Past Chair

Jim Miller, principal at Connect Public Affairs (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
2020-2022 Director

Julie Snyder, corporate librarian and archivist at Shure Incorporated (Niles, Illinois)
2020 Division Cabinet Chair-elect/2021 Chair/2022 Past Chair

The election was held online during September 4-18. Prior to the election, the candidates participated in a Twitter chat and in online discussions with SLA members.

The newly elected board members will join the following current members of the board whose service extends through 2020:

  • Tara Murray, 2020 President
  • Hal Kirkwood, 2020 Past President
  • Bill Noorlander, 2019-2021 Treasurer
  • Robin Dodge, 2020 Chapter Cabinet Chair
  • Valerie Perry, 2020 Past Chapter Cabinet Chair
  • Jill Konieczko, 2020 Division Cabinet Chair
  • Hildy Dworkin, 2018-2020 Director
  • Amy Jankowski, 2018-2020 Director

The 2020 Board of Directors will hold its first meeting at the SLA Leadership Symposium in McLean, Virginia, on January 18-20.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

©2024 Special Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved
Special Libraries Association

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.